Return to Grace Goes to Prison
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
More than inspiring...enlightening, too! November 21, 2009
Reviewer: Charles Roberts from Dresher, PA United States  
This book goes beyond being a wonderful story about a truly caring soul who pursues a career of providing hope and inspiration to prisoners.  

It also challenges the reader to face incredibly timely and relevant issues, such as the need and cost of keeping people locked up for life without parole, the lack of emphasis on prisoner rehabilitation and societal re-entry, the budget-busting expenditures involved in building more prisons to house more prisoners, and the effectiveness as deterrent and cost of capital punishment.

As a society, do we have the courage to follow Grace's inspiring example of seeking the good in everyone, always striving for forgiveness, helping people to get back on track and promoting non-violence and love?  Impossibly idealistic, you say?  Then please read Grace Goes to Prison!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Grace Goes to Prison November 20, 2009
Reviewer: G. Gehrett from Charlottesville, VA United States  
This compelling story of how one woman's courage and caring made a difference in the lives of so many is inspiring. It is also a wake-up call for us as a society to look at the long term harm caused by our current policies of incarceration without emphasis on rehabilitation.  Melanie Snyder draws us into the world of prison inmates and staff with stories of humanity, heartbreak, and love.  "Grace Goes to Prison" opened my eyes to the power of restorative justice and made me a believer.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
It Consumed every spare moment October 29, 2009
Reviewer: Jon Singer from Lancater, PA United States  
I highly recommend this book to anyone involved in prison work or prison ministry. It captivates so well that inmates are human beings after all, most just making stupid/impulsive decisions. With many more Maries and programs like CentrePeace working with inmates, recidivism can be reduced and thus, the need for more prisons/jails. Jon Singer, Executive Director, Lancaster Area Victim Offender Reconciliation Program

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Restorative Justice October 28, 2009
Reviewer: Nancy Neiman-Hoffman from Norwich, CT United States  
Grace Goes to Prison is the story of one woman's 30-year volunteer ministry in the Pennsylvania prison system.  Blessed with a remarkable gift, Marie Hamilton is able both to envision and execute new ways of thinking about incarceration.  The book, by Melanie G. Snyder, is a non-theoretical, engaging account of restorative versus retributive justice.  Some readers will question this shift from a mindset of punishment and vengeance to one of restoration.  But this extraordinary account of changed lives is its own witness.  The moving story in the penultimate chapter of a mediation experience between an inmate who has served 12 years of a life sentence for murder, and the victim's sister, consumed for 12 years with anger and bitterness, will stay long with this reader.  This book has a mission and deserves a wide readership.  Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Inspiring/Humbling October 20, 2009
Reviewer: M Hollinger from Elizabethtown, PA United States  
One is quickly drawn into this book and feels compelled to try to understand the population being served as well as the committment of those serving.  Coming from a peace-perspective background, it was so encouraging to see how it was acted out on many occasions and to hear the positive results of such a witness.  I was horrified at some of the experiences of the subject, but rejoiced when the positive results of those times were shared.  To know that lives were touched in a positive way brought me to tears as I reached the end of the book.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
An inspiring life October 15, 2009
Reviewer: Anne Kline from York, PA United States  
Grace Goes to Prison is inspiring on so many levels.  Bedrock in Marie Hamilton's life is her belief in the humanity of the inmates she visits in prison.  No righteous do-gooder, Marie is tenacious, yet humble, in supporting that humanity as she walks a neutral path of showing no preference to the inmates or to the prison authorities.  Marie's work touches the untouchable and encourages changes for good in the inmates that a rigid punishment system suppresses.  Grace Goes to Prison puts a new face on incarceration, a real heart-warmer.




Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Grace Goes to Prison October 10, 2009
Reviewer: Gloria Horner from Milesburg, PA United States  
I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked this book up to read it.  But once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down.  Living near State College, so many places, people and events are familiar to me.  Did not detect any fiction to this book.  Well written and a true credit to Marie Hamilton.  Kudos to her and the author.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Couldn't put it down October 8, 2009
Reviewer: Matthew Heinz from Elizabethtown, PA United States  
This came in the mail on Saturday morning, and I couldn't put it down. Melanie captures some intensly personal stories that happened throughout an amazing life of a woman dedicated to service. Not only does Melanie share Marie's accomplishments and personal victories, but was able to weave in a personal level of her life that made it connect with me on a much deeper level. I felt like I was there volunteering with Marie. I have rethought a lot of my views on the prison system, and my views on humanity as well.
A story of how humility, persistence, and dedication can make a difference.
Thank you Melanie for sharing Marie with me.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very Inspirational! October 7, 2009
Reviewer: Donna Becker from Pequea, PA United States  
What a wonderfully written and inspirational book! Melanie Snyder captured Marie's spirit and her loving heart beautifully. This book has made me re-think my views on prisons, incarceration and the way we treat prisoners. All prisons should have the type of programs described in this book, to rehabilitate these men and women so when they came back into society, they can be productive, contributing members of society. Marie is an inspiration to anyone who has ever thought of volunteering - she followed her heart and made a tremendous difference in many lives.


Was this review helpful to you?